Meles Zenawi Appoints New Cabinet [full list]

The 4th House of Peoples’ Representative endorsedPrime Minister & Dep Prime Minister the new cabinet members nominated by the Prime Minister in its second day session this morning.

It is to be recalled that the Parliament re-elected  Meles Zenawi as a Prime Minister and new Speakers in its yesterday session. Similarly, the 4th House of Federation did elect new Speakers in its yesterday session. (see below)

Cabinet MembersNew Cabinet take oath

The new Cabinet includes eight new appointees. A southerner assumed the post of a Deputy Prime Minister for the first time.

The share of female ministers and ministers from EPRDF partner parties increased from two to three. Notably, an appointee from a partner party, a Somali, is appointed to the more influential post, Ministry of Trade.

The new Cabinet includes six Muslim members, same as the previous one. It is to be recalled that the country appointed a Muslim as a Minister of Defense for the first time in its history three years ago.

Vice Ministers and State Ministers will be appointed in the coming weeks by the Prime Minister in consultation with the respective Minister.

Post Name Party
Deputy Prime Minister Hailemariam Desalegn SEPDM/EPRDF
1 Minister of Agriculture Tefera Deribew ANDM/EPRDF
2 Minister of Civil Service Junedin Sado OPDO/EPRDF
3 Minister of Communication and Information Technology Debretsion Gebremikael TPLF/EPRDF New
4 Minister of Culture and Tourism Amin Abdulkadir ANDP New
5 Minister of Defense Siraj Fegeta SEPDM/EPRDF
6 Minister of Education Demeke Mekonnen ANDM/EPRDF
7 Minister of Federal Affairs Dr Shiferaw Tekelemariam SEPDM/EPRDF
8 Minister of Finance and Economic Development Sufian Ahmed OPDO/EPRDF
9 Minister of Health Dr Tewodros Adhanom TPLF/EPRDF
10 Minister of Industry Mekonnen Manyazewal Amhara but not party member
11 Minister of Justice Berhane Hailu ANDM/EPRDF
12 Minister of Labor and Social Affairs Abdulfetah Abdulahi Hassen SPDP New
13 Minister of Mines Sinknesh Ejigu (Female) OPDO/EPRDF New
14 Minister of Science and Technology Desse Dalke SEPDM/EPRDF New
15 Minister of Trade and Investment Abdurahman Shek Mohammed SPDP New
16 Minister of Transport Diriba Kuma OPDO/EPRDF
17 Minister of Urban Development and Construction Mekuria Haile SEPDM/EPRDF New
18 Minister of Water and Energy Alemayehu Tegenu OPDO/EPRDF
19 Minister of Women, Youth and Children’s Affairs Zenebu Tadesse (Female) ANDM/EPRDF New
20 Minister of   Foreign Affairs Hailemariam Desalegn SEPDM/EPRDF
21 Director General of the Ethiopian Revenues and Customs Authority Melaku Fanta ANDM/EPRDF
22 Government Chief Whip Aster Mamo(Female) OPDO/EPRDF
23 Gov’t Communication Office Head BereKet Simon ANDM/EPRDF

The last 3 appointees are members of the Cabinet with a ministerial portfolio.

House of Peoples’ Representatives

Speaker Abadula Gemeda OPDO/EPRDF new
Dep. Speaker Shitaye Minale (Female) ANDM/EPRDF

House of Federation

Speaker Kassa Tekleberhan ANDM/EPRDF new
Dep. Speaker

EPRDF – Ethiopian peoples’ Revolutionary Democratic Party
TPLF – Tigray Peoples’ Liberation Front
ANDM – Amhara Nation Democratic Movement
OPDO – Oromo Peoples’ Democratic Organization
SPEDM – Southern Ethiopian Peoples’ Democratic movement
ANDP – Afar National Democratic Party
SPDP – Somali people’s Democratic Party

Daniel Berhane