Meles Zenawi Appoints New Cabinet [full list]

The 4th House of Peoples’ Representative endorsedPrime Minister & Dep Prime Minister the new cabinet members nominated by the Prime Minister in its second day session this morning.

It is to be recalled that the Parliament re-elected  Meles Zenawi as a Prime Minister and new Speakers in its yesterday session. Similarly, the 4th House of Federation did elect new Speakers in its yesterday session. (see below)

Cabinet MembersNew Cabinet take oath

The new Cabinet includes eight new appointees. A southerner assumed the post of a Deputy Prime Minister for the first time.

The share of female ministers and ministers from EPRDF partner parties increased from two to three. Notably, an appointee from a partner party, a Somali, is appointed to the more influential post, Ministry of Trade.

The new Cabinet includes six Muslim members, same as the previous one. It is to be recalled that the country appointed a Muslim as a Minister of Defense for the first time in its history three years ago.

Vice Ministers and State Ministers will be appointed in the coming weeks by the Prime Minister in consultation with the respective Minister.

Deputy Prime Minister Hailemariam DesalegnSEPDM/EPRDF
1Minister of AgricultureTefera DeribewANDM/EPRDF
2Minister of Civil ServiceJunedin SadoOPDO/EPRDF
3Minister of Communication and Information TechnologyDebretsion GebremikaelTPLF/EPRDFNew
4Minister of Culture and TourismAmin AbdulkadirANDPNew
5Minister of DefenseSiraj Fegeta SEPDM/EPRDF
6Minister of EducationDemeke MekonnenANDM/EPRDF
7Minister of Federal AffairsDr Shiferaw TekelemariamSEPDM/EPRDF
8Minister of Finance and Economic DevelopmentSufian AhmedOPDO/EPRDF
9Minister of Health Dr Tewodros AdhanomTPLF/EPRDF
10Minister of Industry Mekonnen ManyazewalAmhara but not party member
11Minister of JusticeBerhane HailuANDM/EPRDF
12Minister of Labor and Social AffairsAbdulfetah Abdulahi HassenSPDPNew
13Minister of MinesSinknesh Ejigu (Female)OPDO/EPRDFNew
14Minister of Science and TechnologyDesse DalkeSEPDM/EPRDFNew
15Minister of Trade and InvestmentAbdurahman Shek MohammedSPDPNew
16Minister of TransportDiriba KumaOPDO/EPRDF
17Minister of Urban Development and ConstructionMekuria HaileSEPDM/EPRDFNew
18Minister of Water and EnergyAlemayehu TegenuOPDO/EPRDF
19Minister of Women, Youth and Children’s AffairsZenebu Tadesse (Female)ANDM/EPRDFNew
20Minister of   Foreign AffairsHailemariam DesalegnSEPDM/EPRDF
21Director General of the Ethiopian Revenues and Customs AuthorityMelaku Fanta ANDM/EPRDF
22Government Chief WhipAster Mamo(Female) OPDO/EPRDF
23Gov’t Communication Office HeadBereKet SimonANDM/EPRDF

The last 3 appointees are members of the Cabinet with a ministerial portfolio.

House of Peoples’ Representatives

SpeakerAbadula GemedaOPDO/EPRDFnew
Dep. SpeakerShitaye Minale (Female)ANDM/EPRDF

House of Federation

SpeakerKassa TekleberhanANDM/EPRDFnew
Dep. Speaker

EPRDF – Ethiopian peoples’ Revolutionary Democratic Party
TPLF – Tigray Peoples’ Liberation Front
ANDM – Amhara Nation Democratic Movement
OPDO – Oromo Peoples’ Democratic Organization
SPEDM – Southern Ethiopian Peoples’ Democratic movement
ANDP – Afar National Democratic Party
SPDP – Somali people’s Democratic Party


You are free to re-publish - just give credit to the author and to HornAffairs with a link.

Daniel Berhane
About Daniel Berhane (893 Articles)
Daniel Berhane

1 Comment on Meles Zenawi Appoints New Cabinet [full list]

2 Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Ethiopia – Who’s Who in the New Cabinet? « Danielberhane's Blog
  2. FDRE: State Presidents, Speakers & Cabinets List « Danielberhane's Blog

Comments are closed.