South Ethiopian Peoples Democratic Movement (SEPDM) is a regional party established in 1992 as a coalition of parties representing the various ethno-linguistic groups of Souther Nations, Nationalities, Peoples Region (SNNPR).

It was originally named South Ethiopian Peoples Democratic Front (SEPDF) and had 16 members, which later increased to 20. In 2002, the member parties merged and assumed the name SEPDM.

SEPDM is the governing party in SNNPR. And it has been member of the ruling party EPRDF(Ethiopian Peoples Revolutionary Democratic Front) since 1992.

Hailemariam Desalegn is the chairperson of SEPDM since 2002.

Read posts related to SEPDM below.

Five Takeaways from PM Hailemariam’s new Cabinet

Just a year after forming a new government, Prime Minister Hailemariam Desalegn returned to parliament to announce a┬áreshuffle. On Tuesday,…

List of PM Hailemariam’s new Ministers

Ethiopian Prime Minister Hailemariam Desalegn presented the much-anticipated cabinet reshuffle today. Though the ruling party formed government last year, it…

This website uses cookies.